A Wicked Good Time

What a great week it is to be in the craft beer scene! It just so happens to be beer week in the large city known informally as D-U-V-A-L. And, like most beer drinkers, I was up to get my hands on as many different styles of beer that I could. For this weeks tasting, I venture off to Wicked Barley Brewing, off Baymeadows Ave.

For anyone who has ever ventured off to Wicked Barley, they would know that the flow of beer is endless. Well, the food is pretty amazing, too. Anyone wanting a triple-decked burger, an extra thick broth, or, an oven crisp baked pretzel, is in luck!

The brewery is responsible for 10 different beers, as well as variously limited release brews to accommodate anyone’s pallet. Today, I ventured off the deep end and tried a different brew. As many should know, I am primarily an IPA type guy. Today, however, I took a dive into the world of brown ales.

I figured that since I am in Duval County, I might as well try to Duval Double Belgian Double. I enjoyed the beers strong malt taste on the initial impact upon my tongue. What followed, however, was a world of surprise. The beer had quite the aftertaste that I cannot quite put my finger on. It was thick and reddish brown in color and smooth in texture. The beer finished smooth but definitely left me pondering the exact fruit ingredients that the recipe entailed. Overall the beer was pleasant, and I rate this beer at a 3.5 out of 5stars.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.